We are a proud provider of CTEC Approved Qualifying and Continuing Tax Education. We offer the CTEC 60 Hour Qualifying Education Tax Course for those who are interested in becoming a CTEC Registered Tax Preparer, as well as the CTEC 20 Hour Continuing Education Course for those who are already registered with CTEC and need to renew. All of our courses are offered online in video/text format, which means you can watch the video or read the text, which ever you prefer. You can even watch the video and read the course at the same time! For those who love to read, you can purchase a physical copy of the course to your door, for just $30 extra and free shipping. Be sure to select the “Online Course + Physical Book” option before clicking the “Buy Now” button. Need assistance of any kind? Feel free to give us a call at 800-654-1746. We’re open Monday – Friday from 9:00 am – 6:00 pm PST, and offer live chat and email support on the weekend.
Existing Student? Access Your Course Here
If you are interested in becoming a CTEC Registered Tax Preparer in California, you’ll be required by the state to complete a 60 hour qualifying education course. This CTEC approved course will fulfill those requirements.
For those who are already CTEC registered tax preparers and need to complete the required 20 hours of continuing education so they can renew their CTEC registration, this course will fulfill those requirements.
Requirements of All CTEC Tax Preparers
Step 1 – Complete a CTEC 60 Hour Tax Course
Step 2 – Purchase a $5,000 Tax Preparer Bond (Cost $25 a year)
Step 3 – Apply and obtain a Preparer Tax Identification Number (PTIN) with the IRS
Step 4 – Register with CTEC online at www.CTEC.org and pay $33 Registration Fee
CTEC Renewal Requirements / Steps
Step 1 – Complete 20 hours of CTEC approved continuing tax education each year
Step 2 – Maintain a valid PTIN (Preparer Tax Identification Number) from the IRS
Step 3 – Maintain a Tax Preparer Bond of $5000
Step 4 – Renew CTEC registration and pay $33 CTEC Renewal Fee by October 31st of each year
Failure to Register With CTEC
California law requires anyone who prepares tax returns for a fee within the State of California and is not an exempt preparer to register as a tax preparer with the California Tax Education Council (CTEC).
“ Failure to register as a tax preparer with the California Tax Education Council, as required by Section 22253 of the Business and Professions Code, unless it is shown that the failure was due to reasonable cause and not due to willful neglect.
(1) The amount of the penalty under this subdivision for the first failure to register is two thousand five hundred dollars ($2,500). This penalty shall be waived if proof of registration is provided to the Franchise Tax Board within 90 days from the date notice of the penalty is mailed to the tax preparer.
(2) The amount of the penalty under this subdivision for a failure to register, other than the first failure to register, is five thousand dollars ($5,000).”
For more information on the requirements and regulations of the California Tax Education Council, visit www.ctec.org/Preparer/WhatCRTP
If you wish to prepare taxes for a fee in the state of California, then you are required by state law to register with the California Tax Education Council (CTEC). In order to register with CTEC, one must complete 60 hours of CTEC Approved Qualifying Education, and 20 hours of CTEC Approved Continuing Education by October 31st of every year. If you want to just prepare your own taxes, you do not need to take CTEC courses.
Do I need to take 20 hours of Continuing Education by 10/31 even if I just finished the 60 hour course in the same year?
Yes, if you registered with CTEC after completing your 60 hour tax course, then you will be required to renew your CTEC registration and have 20 hours of continuing education completed before October 31st. All CTEC Registered Tax Preparers are required to pay the $33 Renewal Fee with CTEC and have 20 hours of continuing education completed by October 31st every year.
If you fail to complete the 20 hours of C.E. or renew by October 31st, you’ll be required to pay a $55 late fee, and you will have until January 15th to complete your 20 hours of C.E. If you have not completed your 20 hours of C.E. by January 15th, you will be required to retake the CTEC 60 hour course and restart the registration process with CTEC.
Yes, if you forgot to take the 20 hour continuing education course and/or forgot to renew with CTEC by the January 15th final deadline, CTEC will require you to re start the entire registration process, which includes retaking the 60 hour qualifying education course.
Nope, the only test you’ll need to take is already included in this course. You won’t have to leave your home to take the test, you can take it at the computer when ever you’re ready. And we give you unlimited time and attempts, so if you don’t pass, you can keep on retaking it.
Absolutely. All of our courses are updated annually with any new tax laws and regulations that come out.
What sets us apart from everyone else is the practicality we’ve integrated into our courses. We’ve made the course extremely user friendly for those who are not that familiar with computers. All you have to do to start the course is simply enter your username and password, and you’re in! There’s no complicated PDF forms or test answers you need to print and mail in, everything is done on our website.